The great – and largely understated – value of beauty sleep

Beauty sleepThis morning I had a shoot scheduled with a student in photography, who needed a selection of portraits for her book. I’m always looking for new material to write about in the blog – and let’s face it – pictures to add to my own book, so I volunteered to model for her.

This morning is also the day that I learned the great and largely understated value of beauty sleep.

I had always thought that beauty sleep was the stupidest term ever invented, an easy way for mothers to get their daughters to sleep, an urban myth. Well, turns out that… it isn’t. 

So why am I deciding out of the blue to talk about the notion of beauty sleep? Because this morning, I was the crappiest model ever (this is really not an exaggeration). My eyes were closed in a picture out of three, my jaw was clenched just as often and the makeup artist – with whom I’m worked on a previous shoot – needed a half-hour more for my prep because of the dark and ugly shadows underneath my eyes.

To be honest, it wasn’t my fault : I was not out partying all night nor did I watch TV until the late hours of the morning. I just couldn’t sleep. But I still felt awful about it after the shoot: I am not paid for the modeling I do, but the photographer picked me out of a dozen other girls and I probably wasted her time.

So, my lesson today can be summed up by this quote from Betty White: “Get at least eight hours of beauty sleep. Nine if you’re ugly.”

Stay tuned for the chronicles of a modeling baby,

Amylie, lost in Lyon and exhausted.

One response to “The great – and largely understated – value of beauty sleep

Leave a Reply

