Normal-sized mannequins… a first step for change in the fashion industry?

602202_621708614510505_1175718056_nI have been told my entire life that Nature has been quite kind with me : I am tall and thin, with curves in the right places (although don’t worry I have my share of flaws : an incurable skin disease caused by my skin’s intolerance of EVERYTHING does not scream blessed by nature). Still, I’m probably not the best person to talk about this issue, since I’ve never felt like I needed to loose weight.

But the fashion industry has got to stop kidding itself : no woman can realistically identify with those stick figures on the cat-walk, in their advertising campaigns or even the mannequins in their stores, clothed with their products.

I don’t know what world they live in but in mine, girls are of all shapes and sizes and thank god for that, or things could get really boring. 

So when I saw Facebook and the internet plastered with articles about H&M introducing normal-sized mannequins in their swedish stores, I thought “Well it’s about time !”. 

I was then a bit disappointed when I learned that it wasn’t the multinational brand that had thought of this but the Swedish clothing chain called Åhléns. But the info went viral ! The post has received over 60,000 likes, 18,000 shares and 3,000 comments with people saying that it was a great initiative  and that the fashion industry should really take example of this.

I really hope – yes I am a hopeless optimist – that this could change things. Coincidently, my final exam in english this morning was based on two articles condemning the excessive use of airbrushing on models in advertising campaigns and how more and more advertisements are being banned in the UK for “exaggerating the benefits of their products and the beauty of their models”.

Is the world finally changing? 

Stay tuned for the chronicles of a modeling baby,

Amylie, lost in Lyon and exhausted.

3 responses to “Normal-sized mannequins… a first step for change in the fashion industry?

  1. Likely not just yet. However, this is a wonderful start.
    I am guessing that these mannequins would be a tough sell for the majority of American retailers. Thank-you for posting this- I’ll definitely be sharing it with my teenaged daughter.

  2. I heard about it too, all the way from Asia (where the girls are much smaller and could they please make petite-sized-mannequins-too thank you very much). Deff a good sign of the industry, and hopefully a way for women to appreciate themselves as they are

Leave a Reply

